Saturday, March 13, 2010

I wanna watch 80's movies!!

So I was watching the Academy Awards and they did a tribute to John Hughes and that inspired me to watch some movies from the 80s. Only the best decade ever!! Well I might be a little biased because I was born in the 80s..lol. Well today we were watching TV and St. Elmo's Fire came on and I didn't watch it all(even though I did DVR it so I could watch it later)... and re-inspired me to watch some movies from the 80s. So I have compiled a list of propective movies and me and my friend Kassi are going to go on a quest to round up some of these flicks!!


I thought I would also give an update on how I am doing with my 2010 goals. Here are the results:

1.To build a better relationship with Christ.
Working on that still… trying to get back to more consistent with being more God focused throughout my day (Still need a lot of work)
2.To be a better girlfriend
I am trying to be better at “going with the flow”:which I am HORRIBLE at… I like having a plan and I think that drives Matthew crazy… lol I have my good and bad days!
3.I want to try and blog for the next year as a way of keeping up with my progress and changes in 2010.
Well OBVIOUSLY I haven’t been doing good at blogging… I just plain forget to log on and update it… I will continue to work on this.
4.I want to drop 30 more lbs (I have currently lost 9 lbs by doing WW)
Continuing to work on this I am at about 15 lbs… yay!! Fitting into a lot of my clothes a lot better… I have been kind of at a standstill the last month… been trying to think about how to get over the HUMP… been contemplating trying P90X… I don’t know yet!
5.I want to run a 5k
Still wanting to do that… but haven’t started running  We will see
6. I want to become a decent photographer (I recently bought a Cannon Rebel XS)
I did purchase Photoshop Elements and have been playing with some of my photos to see what I can do.
7. I want to put a dent in my current debt
I have paid off one credit card… yay!! And I am about to pay off another one this week!... now moving on to the next one…
8. I want to be a better relative and friend to those around me
I have been trying to call my friends and try to hang out with them more consistently
9. I want to put a HUGE dent in my LPC hours
I have made some progress I have 600+ hours down… I only have to get to 1500 eek!
10. I want to do iTeach Texas and become a teacher... so I can become a school counselor
I have started the iTeach process and I take the 4-8 Generalist in a week in a half!! We will see!
11. I want to be able to wear a swim suit and not be embarrassed
Def. not there yet!
12. I want to learn to be better at dealing with the unknown... aka my future
I feel like I am making progress towards this one… more of that trying to just go with the flow!

Friday, January 15, 2010

Becoming content... what a hard task!

At my job I come in contact with a lot of people through out the week. Some of the people I see are going through the same struggles I am, some are lost and don't really know what direction to go, and some just inspire me. But as I go through my daily life I realize how many times I am not content with what I have.

I feel like a really blessed girl, I have an awesome family (like my ADORABLE nephews in this picture) that I am really close to, I have a pretty good job, I am been able to acheive many of my education goals and I have a wonderful boyfriend. Yet I still want more.... which I guess is a double edge sword... wanting more keeps me motivated to achieve more, but it also has me wanting the biggest and best of everything. And being kind of a gadget freak makes it really hard for me to control myself at times.

Not being content is a scary thing... we easily get bored with something, so we go out on a quest to find something that gets our attention. This is true with all sorts of things. Think about it when your job gets tough how many times do you say "I'm ready to quit!" I realized this in myself when a co-worker got a new car... well who am I to want a new car. I heard myself tell her "I'm jealous." In the last 3 years I have had 3 different cars. I know that buying the new cars were out of my control (2 totaled Honda Civics) I have only had my current car since June and it's not like it is a crappy car. It's fairly new 2007, it's got lots of bells and whistles (navigation system, sunroof, keyless entry/start, hands free phone calling, etc).... so why do I envy someone's new car. I know I am not alone, but it's scary that we have become a world where we feel like we always have to keep up with the Jones'.

I feel like there are plenty of areas in my life when I don't care what other people think. But I do find myself getting wrapped up in wanting the next best thing. So is there a cure for this? I sure hope so... lol




I Timothy 6:6-10 says:




"But godliness with contentment is great gain. For we brought nothing into the world, and we take nothing out of it. But if we have food and clothing, we will be content with that. People who want to get rich fall into temptation and a trap and into many foolish and harmful desires that plunge men into ruin and destruction. For the love of money is the root of all kinds of evil. Some people, eager for money, have wandered from the faith and pierced themselves with many griefs.




Ouch!! That verse sure hurts... it is so easy to get wrapped into what the world defines as sucess. So what is true sucess?? Sucess to me isn't going to work everyday and trying to make the most money, so you can buy the best stuff. I will feel sucessful if I can take part in helping change the lives of others. This could be hundreds of people or many just one. I know that God has a plan for me and my life and I hope that I live a life that will be pleasing in his eyes.




So hopefully I can remember why I choose to get into the counseling field and go into work with a better attitude that I have been lately. I hope that when my clients come to see me they feel that I truly care about their well being and don't feel like I am just trying to rush them in and out to get my time for the month. I hope they feel that I am making a difference.

Thursday, January 7, 2010

Coming back to the blog!!


Okay so it is 2010... lots of buzz about New Year's resolutions... so I was thinking tonight that I was going to try and be better at blogging... not that anyone is remotely interested in what I am doing... but it will be a good way for me to keep track of what I am doing and how I have changed in 2010... we will see next Jan I guess...


Well I have a lot of goals for myself for 2010... (probably because I am currently living with the rents and feel like I need ways to make myself productive... I will explain in a moment)


1. To build a better relationship with Christ.
2. To be a better girlfriend

3.I want to try and blog for the next year as a way of keeping up with my progress and changes in 2010.
4.I want to drop 30 more lbs (I have currently lost 9 lbs by doing WW)

5.I want to run a 5k

6. I want to become a decent photographer (I recently bought a Cannon Rebel XS)
7. I want to put a dent in my current debt

8. I want to be a better relative and friend to those around me

9. I want to put a HUGE dent in my LPC hours

10. I want to do iTeach Texas and become a teacher... so I can become a school counselor

11. I want to be able to wear a swim suit and not be embarassed

12. I want to learn to be better at dealing with the unknown... aka my future


Pretty hefty list of goals for 2010... we will see how it pans out... why do I want to blog in 2010?? I don't really know... partly because I was inspired by the movie Julie and Julia... not that anyone will ever read this blog so maybe it is only for my own benefit... and partly b/c in WW they have a thing called the Traveling Journal and our leader said that on avg a member loses 4 lbs per week while having the journal. I guess I am hoping that keeping track of my goals throughout 2010 will hold me more accountable and thus help me achieve more things on the list. That is all for tonight, but there will be more to come!!

Tuesday, December 2, 2008

Thanksgiving fun!

Hey guys!




I was really excited about getting a few days off from work for Thanksgiving break. Of course me and Mom couldn't resist making ourselves instead of getting some good ole rest. Matthew went home so I was at my parents house from Wed to Sun.




The first night we took it easy... I even introduced my mom to the world of Wii... it was really fun. I will have to post a picture sometime. Then Thanksgiving day we watched a lil of the Macy's day parade, decorated Mom's house for Christmas, and worked on making some really cute stocking hangers. We then sat down for a good ole traditional Thanksgiving dinner... spaghetti.... lol. Then my curious dog Gunner decided he wanted to join us in the garage while we were finshing up the stocking hangers and ate some rat poison. $170 later and Gunner emptying his tummy into my mom's cup holder, the vet said everything would be just fine. Stinkin' dog!




Me and mom then loaded up for a slumber party at my house, so we would be closer to Wal-Mart for some good ole Black Friday shopping. I did get me a 32" Flat screen TV, that I am pretty stoked about. We were ready to crash by 11, so we came back to my house crashed for a lil bit and then put up my Christmas tree. We then headed back home and waited for the arrival of Gary's son, wife and two precious children (Gavin 2, and Nathan 3 months)... they are too cute!




Friday we got up and pretty much just hung out all day. We started playing Rock Band on Wii and finally convinced Gary's son, Grant to try drums and he didn't get too attached.... but don't worry we got him hooked later and he ended up playing Mario Cart, Tennis and even got him to try Rock Band again. By the end of the night me, him and his wife Ami were pretty much Rock Stars... it was a really good day. The only day that we really hung out. I have attached some pictures from the weekend. Wanted to show off Gavin and Nathan! Till we meet again...

Monday, December 1, 2008

Dang friends of mine!






Well since KC and Katie started blogs I was begining to feel a little left out... I want ppl to know what I am up to too...lol...






Well KC has her big explorations at an Ivy league school... and Katie has her explorations with little Miss Morgan... so hopefully I can find something interesting to blog about...






Well first of all I graduate with my Master's in Counseling Psychology in less than two weeks... hence the title of my blog "Psychobable"... I am super excited about getting a break for school... I want to pursue a Doctoral degree as well, but I am going to take some much needed time off to help me regain some motivation and give me some time to get some real experience. So I went and bought my cap and gown and hood today... which I don't understand why they make us buy a completely different gown... the only stinkin' thing that was different was that this gown has a puffy sleeves... who needs puffy sleeves anyways... also I have no idea how that hood works... I am glad there will be people there to help me out.






Speaking of graduation that opens a whole new can of worms. The new president of Tarleton... which seems like a really nice man, but I am just frustrated about my graduation situation. Well the new president wanted to condense our graduation ceremonies so we are now graduating with the undergraduates and were limited to ten tickets... which just wouldn't do. Thank the Lord that I ended up getting 15 more tickets. So I don't have to turn down AS many people.






Matthew is good, right now he is "watching" CSI:NY, well if you call snoring watching...lol... well Gunner and Paisley (the dogs) are doing the same. So hopefully I can make this exciting enought to read... but for tonight I am going to say so long!